Got Some Extra Fabric? Make your own patterns!

26 Aug

I decided I wanted to get back into selling things on Etsy even though I have moved away from jewelry making and have become more acquainted with my sewing machine.  Of course that endeavour requires very high quality photos, which I am terrible at taking.  I decided to wrap myself up in duct tape to make myself a dress form that will allow me to display dresses without having to fake smile for photos.  This is not to say that I am not a happy person (because I honestly always have a smile on my face)  I just hate smiling for photos.  I will post directions to make your own on here soon, but after making it I needed to wrap the form in cloth so that I can pin things to it and have the form in one solid color.

I went to SCRAP and found 3 yards of a light blue jersey fabric for $6, which was stretchy enough to give the dress form curves, while not being so bulky that concealed my natural bumps.  I only used about a yard and a half when I came across this really cute scarf on my Pintrest feed. Inspiration  Well anyone that read my blog knows that I am, and always have been a giraffe girl.  So I started looking for a silhouette image of of a Giraffe that I could make into a stamp.

I had a leftover woodblock from a previous project and tool so that cost me nothing, but even if I had to buy them the cost would be somewhere between $3-$6 dollars.    You can find the blocks and tools at most art and or craft stores. Materials Used:  Fabric, wood block or rubber block, marker, clip art, acrylic paint, and carving tool.

ImageMarkerItStampwMarkerI cut the silhouette out carefully, and placed it onto the block, and with the marker I marked from the center of the image out all around the image till I had the outline I needed to carve around.  With the carving tool carefully carve around the image.  Please be careful when carving since you are working with a sharp tool.  Once you cut everything properly you may want to test out your stamp before you apply any paint onto your fabric.  You may notice that there are some parts that still need to be carved off.

Test-Marker As you can see in the image on the left, my giraffe is ready to go, so find a spot to lay your fabric out and stamp your image in any patern you would like. Leave the paint to dry for at least 1 hour. Then take your ends and sew them together. BOOM your SELF MADE scarf is done!

PrintFinish

ON

Me doing my best Ironic Hipster pose

Leave a comment